Microsoft is working two new video feed pinning features after rolling out another set of features last month.
One new feature will allow users to hide their own video during a meeting to help reduce distractions during the call.
The feature, which is set to roll out to users this month, will still ensure that the user’s video is viewable for other participants.
However, it can be a distraction for some users and result in them not making eye contact with the camera, since their video feed is typically at the bottom right corner of the screen during a Teams video call.
The Microsoft 365 roadmap outlines this feature:
Currently, the user’s video is displayed at the bottom right corner of the meeting screen. This feature allows users to hide their own video during a meeting. This will help reduce distractions during the call while still having your video available for other participants.
On the flipside, Microsoft is working on another feature that would allow users to pin their own video feed during meetings.
Currently, users can pin video feeds to increase the size of the desired video on their own screen, but users will now be able to pin their own video on the stage and increase the size of their own feed, according to Microsoft’s 365 roadmap.
In another nod to customer demands, Microsoft will also be releasing a feature that allows users to mute notifications during meetings to help users stay focused.
Users can choose to mute notifications for all meetings or on a per-meeting basis, according to Microsoft.
These updates come after the company made several updates to Teams as part of its December release, including end-to-end encryption and fixes for the Teams app on Android devices.
One of those updates will automatically delete Microsoft Teams recording files stored in OneDrive or SharePoint after a preset period of time.
According to Microsoft, new recordings will automatically expire 60 days after they are recorded if no action is taken, except for A1 users who will receive a maximum 30-day default setting.
Admins can modify the setting to set a different expiration timeline if desired.