COVID-19 Update

NSCA Elects New Board of Directors President

NSCA has announced leadership changes for 2016-2017, as Kelly McCarthy, president/CEO at Genesis Integration has been elected president of NSCA Board of Directors. New members also join NSCA and NSCA Education Foundation Board of Directors.

CI Staff

The NSCA Board of Directors has announced that it has elected Kelly McCarthy, president/CEO at Genesis Integration, as its new president. 

According to the NSCA press release, as a current NSCA board member, McCarthy plans to help NSCA continue its focus on the integration channel.

“NSCA is our organization,” says McCarthy in the new release. “We’re going to continue to support integrators by helping them find ways to make more money, be more successful, and transform along with the changing industry.”

Also See: People & Places: Carousel Acquires Atrion, Creates Half-Billion-Dollar Company

During his two-year tenure, McCarthy plans to grow NSCA membership and increase the level of member engagement. “Every member who engages with NSCA sees an enormous return on value from doing so,” McCarthy says.

DON’T MISS: Read the ‘Most Important’ Blog NSCA’s Chuck Wilson Has Ever Written

McCarthy replaces Michael Hester, managing partner for Beacon Communications, whose two-year term as president ended on June 30, 2016. Hester will serve as the executive committee’s immediate past president, replacing Ingolf de Jong, president at General Communications.

Read more from the NSCA press release below:

Rounding out the executive committee are Michael Boettcher, CEO at Advanced AV, who joins the executive committee as secretary; David Ferlino, regional operations manager at Whitlock, who will serve as treasurer; and Josh Shanahan, president at Sport View Technologies, who will serve as vice president.

Eric Yunag, vice president of strategy at Convergint Technologies, also joins the NSCA Board of Directors today, beginning his first three-year term. He joins the following board members who continue their terms:

  • Ray Bailey, Lone Star Communications
  • Ron Prier, RPAV
  • Anne Sellers, Sensory Technologies
  • Rob Simopoulos, Advance Technology
  • Paul Thomas, Northland Control Systems

“We’re thrilled to have Kelly McCarthy become our president,” says Chuck Wilson, NSCA executive director. “His decades of experience in all aspects of a systems integration business – from sales and technical roles to accounting – will provide the foundation for very strong leadership for NSCA.”

The NSCA Education Foundation welcomes new board member Lauren Simmen, regional sales manager at SurgeX. Simmen serves alongside officers Jeff Kindig of Harman (president), Stephen Kohler of Shure (vice president), and Catherine Shanahan of Shanahan Sound (secretary/treasurer). They will be joined by the following board members who continue their terms:

  • TJ Trojan, Synnex
  • Steve Emspak, Shen Milsom & Wilke
  • Ron Pusey, Communications Specialists Inc.
  • Kelly Perkins, AVI Systems
  • Mike Shinn, IMS Technology Services
  • Paul Cronin, Atrion Networking
  • Ingolf de Jong, General Communications Inc.
  • Laurie Englert, Milestone AV Technologies
  • Thomas Hansen, Bosch Security Systems

For more information about NSCA, visit

CoronaVirus Update